Why Instagram Makes me so Sad

Am I the only one who finds Instagram weird? It’s simply a Twitter clone without words. Only photos. Boring. Why is it so popular in Asia?

Twitter has photos and videos.  It’s not that they are photos.   It’s that that’s *all* it is.   It’s nothing else.

What gets communicated through a photo?  “Here I am. Isn’t my life cool. Don’t you wish you were me.”     No words.  No thoughts.  Nothing.   Just someone’s photo album.  No context.

In Asia, Instagram is extremely popular.   But most users post *only* selfies.     100% photos of themselves.   Nothing else.   It’s the craziest phenomenon I’ve *ever* seen.    Who the hell wants to see 42,353 selfie photos of only *you* !?      wtf

Soooooo boring.

By bf is absolutely addicted to Instagram and Facebook.   But Instagram more.  From what I can gather, people follow someone’s life ( or carefully staged artificial life ) there.   And they follow it… like a soap opera.   Where will they go next?  What fashionable or exotic place, car, clothing, phones, watches, etc… will they be seen in next?

But they really get into it.   They know who’s who.   There’s a serious status to it.   They get a sort of Instagram fame buzz from it.   People recognize him in public sometimes from his Instagram.  He has several 10s of thousands of followers.

But I can’t imagine anything more artifical and boring.   To me, it’s sad really.

I’m not sure to what extent users in the USA use it this way too…. or not.

But I’d bet it’s similar…. even if not to the same extreme extent.   USA users are probably more discerning and less naive about believing everything they see… like faked staged posed scenes propping up status symbols.

Leave a Reply

